Wisconsin offers a lucrative employment and enticing job opportunity for HVAC technicians. As an entry-level technician, you can expect to earn an HVAC salary of around $31,000 per year. Meanwhile, senior techs can earn around $47,000 or even more. Since the income you can earn is commensurate with your expertise and knowledge, it’s highly recommended to develop your skills through training. While there are no Wisconsin HVAC certification or license requirements, it does have an optional certification which can affect your earning potential.
Registration and Certification Process
If you work as an HVAC contractor in the state, you need to register with the Department of Safety and Professional Services. The process is rather simple. You only need to complete a two-page form. You can do this by yourself (if you’re the contractor), through a qualifying agent, or by the CEO if it’s a company. The registration lasts for four years and only costs $160 along with a $15 filing fee.
If you only work on your own property, you are exempted from the registration process.
Wisconsin HVAC certification in the state is optional; however, it can help with your career advancement. By obtaining a Wisconsin HVAC certification, you will be considered an “HVAC Qualifier”. This means your employer is a certified HVAC business. As a benefit, local jurisdictions won’t be able to request any further requirements from you.
As an HVAC Qualifier, counties, cities, and villages won’t be able to impose any further restrictions on you as far as Wisconsin HVAC certification is concerned. Basically, you are covered everywhere throughout the state. However, you should be registered, unless the laws in your locality are already implemented before the mid-1990s. You can always check your local licensing offices for information.
It is mandated by federal law that anyone who handles and buys refrigerants should have an EPA certification. The certification, which is offered by the Environmental Protection Agency, is available in three different types: Type I, Type II, and Type III. There’s also the Universal certification which covers all three certification types. The type of certification you should get depends on the type of units and appliances you want to work on. This is a national certification that you can use in any state, and not just a Wisconsin HVAC certification.
There are no statewide Wisconsin HVAC certification and licensing requirements. However, it does offer an optional certification. While optional, we highly recommend getting it since it can help you advance further in the field.
If you want to become an HVAC contractor, you need to undergo a registration process. However, the entire process is simply just a matter of completing a form and paying the registration fee.
Check out HVAC requirements for nearby states: