Like most states in the US, the demand for HVAC services in the state of Utah continues to increase. Hence, if you want a job that has lots of opportunities and pays really well, then you should consider becoming an HVAC technician. However you can’t just apply for a job, you first need to get Utah HVAC certification.
As an HVAC technician, you will be working under a licensed contractor’s supervision. On average, you can earn around $20 to $25 per hour in HVAC salary right after you complete your training. Therefore, entering the field of HVAC in Utah is an excellent choice to consider. If you have good mechanical skills and a knack for troubleshooting systems, then this career is for you.
Responsibilities of an HVAC Contractor and Technician
The Utah Plumbing and Heating Contractors Association is an organization made specifically for HVAC technicians and plumbers in the state. As a contractor, you can take on both commercial and residential projects. You can also create HVAC plans for ductwork in a newly constructed building.
You can employ technicians under your supervision. You’re essentially owning your own business and manage projects you have received. Also, as an independent contractor, you are your own boss. It is your responsibility to oversee your HVAC technicians when it comes to troubleshooting cooling systems and dealing with refrigerants whenever necessary. You can also expand your business and employ technicians who have received training when it comes to the repair, installation, and maintenance of HVAC systems.
On the other hand, if you work as a technician, you should be employed by a licensed HVAC contractor. As a technician, you can work on HVAC and refrigeration units in order to maintain their performance and even extend their lifespan.
Both HVAC contractor and technician carry the responsibility of keeping HVAC units well-maintained and working all year round. As long as the job is well done, customers will surely feel satisfied with the services.
Utah HVAC certification and License Categories and Procedures
Here are the types of HVAC-related contractor licenses in Utah. Keep in mind that your HVAC certification will depend on the type of system who want to handle.
- S350 for Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning
- S351 for Refrigeration Air Conditioning
- S352 for Evaporative Cooling
- S353 for Warm Air Heating
- S360 for Refrigeration
The license in Utah is a primary license class which is given by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing based in Salt Lake. Refrigeration falls into another class. Additionally, there are various subclasses that fall under HVAC certification and license.
As a contractor, you are required to submit a proof of worker’s compensation insurance and liability insurance. You should also register your business with the Utah State Tax Commission, Internal Revenue Service, Department of Employment Security, and the Division of Corporations. Your business should also have a proof of DBA registration with the Division of Corporations and a financial statement along with 3 credit reports for all of your employees.
Once you have met all initial requirements, you should then take and pass both Business and Law exam and the trade exam. Before you can become an HVAC contractor in Utah, you need to have at least 4 years of full-time experience in the HVAC industry. If you have your HVAC certification and license from another state, you can apply for a license reciprocity agreement.
For the primary classification license, you need to pay a $200 application fee. Any additional classification will cost you $100. You are required to renew your license if you want to continue working in the HVAC field. To do so, you need at least six hours of continuing education. You can also complete three online course hours which are provided by the Utah government. However, you still need three additional hours of continuing education from live seminars to fulfil the six-hour requirement.
The Examination Process
If you want to get a license to work as an HVAC contractor in Utah, you should have your application approved by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. You also need to cover testing fees.
For the Business and Law exam, you should pay $79. It is open book, so you can bring any reference materials with you. There are multiple choice questions which you should all answer within the specified time limit. These questions will verify your knowledge and understanding of both state and federal allows alongside accounting procedures.
To prepare for the examination, you can take advantage of the Contractor’s Reference Manual. You can also find a number of practice tests online.
Trade exams, on the other hand, are based on the standards set by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration. They are also open book, and you will have to pay another $79. Once you have paid both application and testing fees, as well as passed both exams, you may then receive your HVAC certification and license. Your license is valid for two years on the 31st of July in an odd-numbered year. The exams are administered by PSI Examination Services.
It is required by federal law to obtain an EPA certification for all HVAC technicians throughout the US. This certification will allow you to deal with refrigerants and also verify your knowledge regarding proper handling and recovery of said substance. This is not a Utah HVAC certification, but a national one that can be used anywhere.
If you’re a refrigerant technician, you must have EPA certification to purchase refrigerants. There are three different certification types depending on the unit you plan to work on. Type I allows you to service small units, Type II covers high and very high-pressure systems, and Type III allows you to handle low-pressure units.
However, if you want to handle all three types, you can go for the Universal certification instead.
Each certification will cover specific unit types which should be properly handled according to EPA standards. The training will include rules that govern how much refrigerant has been and should be added to a unit.
Training is available throughout the US, and the certification can be used across all states.
You need to obtain proper Utah HVAC certification and licenses if you want to pursue a career as an HVAC contractor or technician. Once you have met all requirements and completed all examinations, you can choose to work with a licensed HVAC contractor or start your own business as a contractor yourself.
Check out nearby states requirements: