HVAC professionals in the state of New Jersey are considered as one of the top paid professions in the state. According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the demand for experienced HVAC contractors and technicians in the state is huge. If you plan to take the career path of an HVAC professional, you will need to obtain your New Jersey HVAC certification and license before you can perform any HVAC-related project. In this article, I’ll guide you through the licensing and certification process. You’ll also learn about the requirements needed for license renewal.
Why You Should Get New Jersey HVAC Certification
Compared to other states where HVAC certification is optional, working as an HVAC professional in New Jersey requires a Master HVACR Contractor’s license. While the process tends to be a bit complicated, there are benefits you can enjoy. Some of them include the possibility to start your own business, a more lucrative income, and professional recognition.
To get your HVAC contractor certification in the state, you can take either one of the two routes:
- You start as a college student and enroll in training programs from an accredited college.
- You are an experienced journeyman and already have a license from another state.
Certification and Licensing Requirements
You need to comply with the educational requirements and complete the application form before you can apply for an examination. Moreover, you need to be at least 21 years of age. For the educational requirements, you need to have the following:
- A bachelor’s degree in an HVAC-related field along with at least 36 months of experience in any HVAC-related projects.
- Completed vocational training from an accredited trade school or college program (this is equal to two years of field experience).
- Bachelor’s degree in HVACR studies from any registered university or college, plus at least one year of hands-on experience in any HVAC-related projects.
However, if you can’t comply with the said requirements, you may still apply for the Master HVACR Contractor License if you have the following experience:
- At least 12 months of experience as a HVAC journeyman after finishing your apprenticeship.
- At least five years of working experience as an HVACR contractor, along with four years of HVAC apprenticeship or education from an approved program.
As soon as you have met all the requirements, you may then submit an application form to the State Board. You will need to pay $100 for the application process.
The Examination Process
After having your application approved, you may then proceed to take the licensure examination. Before you do, make sure you prepare adequately and familiarize yourself with the fundamentals of the trade. Keep in mind that in the event you failed, there is a grace period of 6 months before you may retake.
The examinations are conducted every three months, so there’s no need to wait a long time between submitting your application and taking the exam. Upon acquiring a passing score, the State Board will then issue your Master HVACR Contractor License. By law, a $3,000 bond is required to guarantee that you will comply with the rules implemented upon receiving your license.
You need to renew your license every two years. Other than that, you should also provide proof of continuous HVAC-related work during that period. Training should be given by an accredited facility.
Insurance and Taxes
If you intend to provide HVAC-related services as an independent HVACR professional, you’re essentially setting up your own HVAC company. Therefore, you are required to have an insurance that covers a minimum of $500,000. Likewise, you need to provide your proof of insurance to the New Jersey State Board.
You also need to provide your Federal Tax Identification Number before you can get your license. By doing so, you can freely advertise your HVACR services throughout the state. As long as you can comply with the New Jersey HVAC certification and licensing requirements, the rest of the process will become straightforward.
In the event you don’t have the educational or relevant experience requirements, you will definitely face troubles when procuring your license. To make things easier, you need to obtain the necessary experience and education by enrolling in HVAC training programs and working as an HVAC apprentice. You can find a number of accredited colleges that provide HVAC training throughout New Jersey.
To make sure you can pass the examination, it is strongly advised that you prepare and study beforehand. This is quite essential since failing the exam will mean having to wait for 6 months before you can apply for a retake.
Despite the New Jersey HVAC certification and licensing requirements, the income you can earn is huge. HVAC salaries start at $16 per hour and it goes up to $42. On average, you can expect an annual median salary of $56,500 which can reach as high as $87,000.
Check out nearby states HVAC certification requirements:
- New York HVAC Certification
- Pennsylvania HVAC Certification
- Maryland HVAC Certification
- Delaware HVAC Certification