New Hampshire tends to experience temperature extremes every now and then, especially during the summer and winter seasons. This makes HVAC professionals more in demand to provide efficient cooling and heating systems into various buildings. If you think you have the skills or perhaps the drive to handle HVAC systems, then starting a career as an HVAC professional is for you. Fortunately, there are no state-level New Hampshire HVAC certification and licensing requirements in the state. There are, however, several requirements you need to comply with. For example:
Fuel Gas Fitter Licensing Requirement
If you deal with fuel gas fitting which involves liquid propane and natural gas, you are required to obtain a specialty license. This type of license is applicable for any projects related to fuel gas fitting such as ventilation, installation, and piping. You can check for more information at the New Hampshire Employment Security website.
Meanwhile, if you work in other industries related to heating, you can obtain several types of New Hampshire HVAC certifications. However, they are not mandatory. For example, you may want to acquire a Heating Equipment Technician Certification which you can get by showing competence in heating equipment servicing.
You can choose to get this if you’re planning to get a NATE or NORA certification since the same requirements apply.
Despite the lack of HVAC certification and license requirements in New Hampshire, there are some certain local regulations that apply. As such, it is important that you inquire at your local office for any possible requirements in the trade. Most of the cities don’t have any license requirement, but it’s still advisable to check for any changes.
EPA certification is a mandatory certification which you should get if you deal with refrigerants. It is mandated by federal law under Section 608. EPA section 609, on the other hand, deals with HVAC units in cars and motor vehicles. This is not a New Hampshire HVAC certification, but is done on a national level, and it applies to every state.
The lack of HVAC certification and licensing requirement in New Hampshire makes for a good starting point in the HVAC trade. There’s no need to undergo a lengthy application process, no need to deal with paperwork, and absolutely no need to take exams.
On average, you can earn $16.70 per hour, while experienced professionals earn around $24.50 in HVAC salary. Moreover, you can find plenty of opportunities in the field, especially if you have a lot of relevant experience. If you think this is the right career path for you, then don’t hesitate to start as an HVAC apprentice now.
Check out nearby states HVAC certification requirements:
- Vermont HVAC Certification
- New York HVAC Certification
- Maine HVAC Certification
- Massachusetts HVAC Certification