The need for experienced HVAC professionals in Nevada has significantly increased, and temperature extremes are to blame. On average, a professional can earn $26 per hour and a annual HVAC salary of $54,500. Convinced yet on finding out more on Nevada HVAC certification?
The profession doesn’t require any special Nevada HVAC certification, licensing or degree. However, if you want to earn the maximum income possible, it’s ideal to become an HVAC contractor. This article will guide you through the licensing process up to taking examinations. Read on.
How to Become an HVAC Contractor
As someone with Nevada HVAC certification and with the right licenses, you can render your services as a C-21 contractor in these fields:
- Airconditioning (C-21b)
- Chilled Water (C-21f)
- Hot Water Piping (C-21g)
- Maintenance (C-21d)
- Refrigeration (C-21a)
- Sheet Metal (C-21c)
However, you need to comply with the experiential and financial requirements that are specified in the application process. Upon passing, you may proceed to the examination. These are as follows:
- At least 4 years of relevant experience in the past 10 years as either a contractor, supervising employee, foreman, or journeyman.
- A fee for licensing and application worth $600.
- At least 4 reference certificates to support your work experience claims.
- Passing a background check.
- Relevant education in lieu of having only 3 years of hands-on experience or less.
- Your current financial statements which should be submitted to the licensing board for auditing and review by a licensed CPA.
- If you have a financial limit of below $1,000,000, it should be audited and reviewed by a CPA, compiled using an accounting software along with an affidavit, or completed on a form given by the Board. If the limit exceeds $1,000,000, it should undergo auditing and review by a CPA.
- Renewal of your license every two years.
- A bond with an amount that is set by the Board. It could also vary depending on your specific type of license.
The state of Nevada has signed an agreement with the three following states: Arizona, California, and Utah. This agreement specifies that a licensed contractor can render his services in any of the mentioned states provided that he has at least 7 years of hands-on experience and has all the license and certificates required.
The Examination Process
You will be scheduled to take an examination only if your application is approved by the Board. It is issued by the PSI Licensure Certification. You are required to pass both Business and Law exam, along with a trade exam if you want to get your C-21 license. Here are some of the specifics:
- You are allowed to bring notes, books, and other reference materials in the examination.
- You need to cover the expenses for the exams: $85 for a single Business & Law exam and $130 for a trade exam with the Contractor Management Survey exam.
- You are allocated a maximum of 3 hours to finish answering all 85 questions.
- Exams have a 70% passing score requirement.
- Failing the exam in three consecutive tries will require you to reapply to the Board before you can reschedule for a fourth exam.
The following topics are tackled in the exams:
- Adjusting and Balancing Controls
- Chimneys, Flues, and Vents
- Combustion Air
- Evaporative Cooling
- Exhausts Safety
- Fuel Systems
- Furnaces and Heaters
- Heat Pump Equipment
- Heating and Cooling Principles
- Load Calculations
- Machine Room A/C
- Piping Insulation, Hangers, and Supports Sound
- Refrigerants and Refrigeration
- Solar Ventilation
- Vibration and Seismic Control
Before you can tackle hazardous refrigeration materials, you are required to have an EPA 608 certification first. EPA certified technicians are often hired by HVAC companies to extend their reach and work on projects that involve hazardous refrigerants.
Even if you don’t plan to become a contractor, getting EPA certified can be considered a good starting point. After all, every HVAC technician is almost subjected to jobs that involve refrigerants. Certification is categorized into Type I, II, and II. You can check here to learn how to be EPA certified.
Final Notes on Nevada HVAC certification
Getting a C-21 Contractor’s License in Nevada is a complicated process. However, you are given a wide field of business by being able to offer HVAC services in multiple states and working on high-paying projects. There’s also a vast expanse of areas to work on; it’s not just limited to one specific spot. We hope that you now better understand Nevada HVAC certification.
Check out nearby states HVAC certification requirements:
- Utah HVAC Certification
- California HVAC Certification
- Arizona HVAC Certification
- Idaho HVAC Certification
- Oregon HVAC Certification