Despite being called the “Show-Me” state, Missouri doesn’t really require you to show your HVAC license. In fact, the state is one of the few that doesn’t require any testing or license at all, yes that’s right, no Missouri HVAC certification is needed! However, certain local requirements might still apply.
Also, if you want to advance further in your career, you might want to consider getting Missouri HVAC certification. If you have it, it will certainly help advance your HVAC career.
Bond and Local Requirements
As an HVAC contractor, you are recommended to have corporate surety bonds, albeit not really required. The bonds will cover licensing and permit bonds, contractor performance, and financial guarantee bonds. These are obtainable via your insurance agency. If you just plan to work as a technician, these are not required.
For the local requirements, each city or county may have its own rules and regulations. Therefore, it is highly advised to check your local governments. The city of St. Louis, for example, doesn’t have any requirements, but other cities may have. Just because you don’t need Missouri HVAC certification, doesn’t mean that the individual cities will have the same rules.
Applying as a Contractor in St. Louis
In St. Louis, an HVAC contractor is someone who has a journeyman under his employment. However, if your business is a sole proprietorship, you can choose to be the journeyman yourself. You can also take advantage of the “grandfather clause” which applies if you’re exempted from older laws. Moreover, you need to have at least three years of working experience and a certificate of insurance which should be included in your application.
Applying as a Journeyman
If you want to work as a journeyman HVAC technician, you will need to prove at least 7,500 hours of working experience. As a journeyman, you are allowed to handle residential units with up to 5 cooling tons or 150,00 BTUs of heating. Regulations may vary from one place to another, so make sure to check your local office.
Obtaining an EPA Certification
The United States government requires anyone who works with refrigerants to obtain an EPA certification. There are different types of certifications for different types of appliances as outlined in Section 608 of the Clean Air Act. Likewise, if you work with cooling units in vehicles, you will need a certification under Section 609. This is not a Missouri HVAC certification, but a national one.
On average, you can earn $22 per hour or $44,000 every year in HVAC salary. Meanwhile, senior technicians can earn up to $75,000 or even more. Therefore, if you plan to start your HVAC career, make sure to study the trade and submit all requirements requested by your local office. Also, starting as an HVAC apprentice and enrolling in several training programs is highly recommended.