Do you want to start an HVAC career in the state of Mississippi? In case you’re wondering, the HVAC field in the state is quite lucrative and provides plenty of opportunities for those who plan to start. But it is important you fully understand Mississippi HVAC certification requirements before you go much further.
It has been predicted that opportunities in the HVAC industry will grow significantly within the next few years. In fact, the US Bureau of Labor Statistics reported that HVAC job prospects will be at an all-time high in the state.
As such, this article will aim to cover all important information you need in the field of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning. You’ll also learn about the Mississippi HVAC certification, licensing requirements and examinations needed.
How Much Can You Earn?
In Mississippi, you can earn an average rate of just over $16 per hour as an HVAC technician, which can easily go up to $23.90 as your experience increases. You can expect an annual salary of $33,500 and up to $49,500 for senior technicians.
The income that HVAC technicians earn in the state is among the top 51% of all career salaries in Mississippi. Of course, the income you can receive will depend on your experience, certification, and position.
Scope of Work
As an HVAC technician, you will work on HVAC systems which regulate the temperature and air quality in various buildings. You are expected to carry out tasks such as installation, design, preventative maintenance, repair, and testing.
Moreover, the types of projects you can tackle include office buildings, schools, individual houses, healthcare facilities, military buildings, and more.
The HVAC Contractor Licensing Process
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors is the body that regulates HVAC licensing in the state. If you want to work as an HVAC contractor, you need to acquire a license before you can take on any HVAC-related work. However, if you choose to work under a licensed contractor, you are exempted from getting a license.
The license necessary for HVAC contractors falls under Mechanical Work Certificate. This will include all aspects that relate to heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration such as appliances, fuel gas systems, and ductwork.
Also, jobs with privately funded funds in excess of $100,000 or publicly funded projects in excess of $50,000 will require a state contractor’s license. Meanwhile, anything that is below that threshold doesn’t need any licensing requirement. You still need to comply with the local requirements implemented in your locality.
There are two state license categories, namely Commercial and Residential. You need to pay a $200 application fee for a commercial license and $50 for a residential license. To apply, you need to follow these requirements:
- A proof of general liability insurance
- A proof of worker’s compensation insurance
- Your financial statement which has been reviewed by a CPA in the last twelve months containing at least a $20,000 net worth
- A passing score in the Law and Business Management and trade examinations
- Any proof of experience in HVAC projects
Board meetings are held every three months and they are held on the second Wednesday of January, April, July, and October. You will need to submit your application 30 days before the meeting and pass the examination during the same period.
As a licensed HVAC contractor in the state, you can work on all aspects of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning. For now, there is no continuing education requirement.
If you have obtained a license from another state, you can choose to apply for the state’s license reciprocity agreement. However, this is only applicable to the following states:
By applying for license reciprocity, you no longer have to undergo the licensing and examination process. To qualify, you should have a license which you have maintained for at least three consecutive years from one of the aforementioned states. This is just like having Mississippi HVAC certification.
The Testing Process
The exams held in the state are held by PSI Examination Services. To get your license, you should get a passing score in the Law and Business Management and trade exams. Once you have submitted your application, the Board will inform the PSI if you are qualified to take the exam or not. You will also receive a confirmation email from PSI.
The HVAC trade exam consists of 80 questions which you should answer within four hours. To pass, you need a passing score of at least 70%. The questions include the following topics:
- A/C and Heat Pump Equipment
- Boilers and Hydronics
- Chimneys and Vents
- Combustion Air
- Evaporative Cooling
- Hangers and Supports
- Heating and Cooling Principles
- Load Calculations
- LP Gas Systems
- Fuel Gas Systems
- Machine Room
- Refrigerants and Refrigeration
- Furnaces and Heaters
Meanwhile, the Law and Business Management exam consists of fifty questions which you should answer within 2 hours. Also, you need to get a passing score of at least 70%. The topics included are as follows:
- Estimating and bidding
- Labor laws
- Tax laws
- Environment and safety
- Risk management
- Project management
- Lien law
The exams are open book, and the Board suggests the use of these books for reference and study:
- 2006 International Mechanical Code
- 2006 International Fuel Gas Code
- OSHA Code of Federal Regulations Part 1926
- Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning and ACCA Ductulator
If you’re an HVAC contractor, you may also enroll in prep courses from the American Contractors and Mississippi Contractor Licensing Service.
Information about EPA Section 608 Certification
The Environmental Protection Agency requires any technician who handles refrigerants to obtain an EPA certification as stated under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act. To obtain the certification, you need to get a passing score on an EPA-approved examination. This is not done by the state, so is not technically a Mississippi HVAC certification, however it is very necessary to advance your career in the field.
Check out nearby states HVAC certification: