State Certification Guides M

Minnesota HVAC Certification Guide

Minnesota, likewise known as the Land of 10,000 Lakes, is a great place to find an employment, especially if you want to consider working in the HVAC field. The best thing about the state is that there’s no licensing or Minnesota HVAC certification requirement in order to work in the field. However, you need to follow certain codes and regulations, of course.

 

Bond and Local Requirements

 

If you plan to work as an HVAC contractor (also known as a mechanical contractor in the state), you will need a $25,000 bond which is a requirement throughout the state. It should be filed with the state, and you will need to pay $15 for the filing fee.

The bond requirement is a requirement for anyone who works on heating, air conditioning, ventilation, heating, gas piping, refrigeration, or fuel burning projects. As a contractor, you also need to file for an appropriate business license. One thing you should know is that you need to file an additional paperwork if you work under a different name.

Therefore, if you start your business under a different name, you will need to comply with this requirement.

When it comes to local requirements, various cities or counties within the state may have their own licensing requirements. For example, both Minneapolis and St. Paul will require a certificate of competency which is available for both journeyman and master technician levels. This is technically a Minnesota HVAC certification, however only if you are in these specific cities.

 

To obtain the certificate, you need to fill an application along with a notarizedpart of the form. You also need an approval from a master level technician whom you’ve worked for. Once you have all the requirements and submitted them, you may then undergo testing.

 

Several other cities in the state may also have their own requirements too. As such, it is important to inquire in your local office first.

 

EPA Certification

 

Federal law requires an EPA certification if you want to handle refrigerants in Minnesota and the rest of the states in the US. This can be found under Section 608 of the Clean Air Act by the Environmental Protection Agency.

 

If you want to work as an HVAC professional in Minnesota, make sure you comply with the requirements and follow the necessary steps. On a state level, there are not that many requirements to accomplish. However, cities and counties may have certain requirements that vary from one place to another. Make sure you check them out! Whilst it is not necessary to obtain Minnesota HVAC certification, if you want to get the most out of your HVAC salary, it will definitely help to get various licenses. If you are planning on crossing into the state of Iowa for HVAC work, make sure to look into their certification requirements as well.