So, it appears that you have decided to pursue a career in the lucrative industry of HVAC and obtain Massachusetts HVAC certification. However, in order to qualify as a professional Massachusetts HVAC technician, there is a need for you to know which certificates you need and what exams you must pass. You should be aware that not all the states in the country possess the same certification standards.
For those of you planning to acquire a Massachusetts HVAC certification, you have come to the right place. If you intend to work as an HVAC technician in Massachusetts, there isn’t a state regulation that states that you need to be certified. It is possible for you to work right away on some of the smaller HVAC units. However, if you intend to work with refrigeration units, you will need to acquire an EPA certification in order to get your qualification as a licensed refrigeration technician in Massachusetts.
The law in the state of Massachusetts stipulates that you must hold a license if you work with more than 10 tons of refrigeration. However since most homes do not have appliances that big it enables you to work on most HVAC appliances in homes. There are several different levels of refrigeration licenses available for contractors, technicians and apprentices. Here’s what you need to do to acquire these particular licenses:
Refrigeration Apprenticeship License
The trainee license, also known as the refrigeration apprentice, is the easiest refrigeration license you can obtain and a great step to getting Massachusetts HVAC certification. In order to qualify for this license, you will need to submit a formal application, a copy of your high school diploma, and an approval letter from the Division of Apprentice Training. It is compulsory for you to be 18 years or older and the license fee is $40.
The refrigeration apprentice license has to be renewed by the date of your birthday on the second year of the license having been granted. The Bureau of Pipefitters, Refrigeration Technicians and Sprinkler Fitters are the body who make the decision that you can renew your license and it may only be renewed a maximum of two times.
License to become a refrigeration technician
You can only become a refrigeration technician after you have passed and completed your apprenticeship. When applying for a job as a refrigeration technician, you will be asked to submit a Certificate of Completion of Apprenticeship. In order to officially become a licensed technician you have to hand in your certificate with your application form as well as pay a fee of $75 for application charges. In addition to that, there is also a requirement for you to provide your EPA Certification. In Massachusetts this is known as “CFC Certification”.
What are the other criteria you must meet you ask? Well, there is a need for you to have a minimum working experience of 6000 hours as a refrigeration apprentice in the state of Massachusetts. You will also need to submit documents that state that you have attended classes of at least 250 hours in a refrigeration course from an approved school, out of which 100 hours should be related to the theoretical aspects of refrigeration and 150 hours of relevant state electrical code training.
If you don´t meet the aforementioned criteria, there is another route. It is possible for you to acquire a refrigeration technician license if you have a working experience of 4000 hours as a refrigeration apprentice, documents that state that you have attended classes of at least 500 hours in a refrigeration course from an approved school, out of which 250 hours were devoted to shop-related work,100 hours related to the theoretical aspects of refrigeration, and 150 hours given to relevant state electrical code training.
A person who has worked for 2000 hours as a refrigeration apprentice in Massachusetts, has done 1000 hours in a refrigeration course from an approved school, out of which 700 hours were devoted to shop-related work, 100 hours related to the theoretical aspects of refrigeration and 100 hours related to relevant MA electrical code training, can also apply to become a licensed refrigeration technician.
You may also qualify if you have got your license from a different state in the USA as a master, technician or can prove the equivalent. This license can be used together with written proof from your employer that you have the experience and have met all of the requirements.
License to become a refrigeration contractor
If you have the confidence and the financial backing to become a contractor, you should do so by all means. However, in order to do that, you will require a technician license. The employees of your organization must also give proof that you already hold and use the license. There is also a need for you to have at least 2000 hours of experience working as a technician as well.
Additionally, there is also a requirement for you to have attended at least 100 hours of classes on refrigeration theory from an approved school. The cost of submitting an application fee to hold a Refrigeration license is currently set at $150.
The state of Massachusetts will inform you anywhere from 4 to 8 weeks after you have submitted your application what the date of your exam will be. You should thoroughly prepare before your exam.
Pay scale of HVAC technicians in the state of Massachusetts
Reliable reports indicate that technicians that specialize in HVAC units earn an average of $56,500 on an annual basis. Some HVAC professionals and experts even earn upwards of $80,000 in a year! However, if you want to become a top earner in this profession, you will need to have a refrigeration certificate.
What is the EPA certificate for refrigerants?
The EPA certification is a national requirement for all aspiring HVAC technicians. If you go through the process of acquiring an EPA certificate, you will learn more about environmental protection and the effects of operating with dangerous, harmful materials. You will be set for life after obtaining an EPA certificate, as the certificate never expires.
The 3 different types of EPA certificates are:
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type I
With this certificate under your belt, you will be permitted to operate on appliances that contain less than 5 pounds of refrigerant.
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type II
This certificate enables you to operate with high-pressure units. This also allows you to work on split systems as well as non-automotive appliances.
- EPA Section 608 HVAC Type III
If you hold this particular certification, you will be able to work on low-pressure units.
The future of HVAC in the state of Massachusetts looks promising, to say the least. The demand for HVAC technicians is at an all-time high at the moment and the demand is only likely to increase in the future. Therefore, becoming an HVAC technician and getting Massachusetts HVAC certification can be extremely lucrative!
Check out nearby stare requirements since they are so close:
- Connecticut’s HVAC certification
- New York HVAC Certification
- New Hampshire HVAC Certification
- Vermont HVAC Certification