State Certification Guides G-L

Kansas HVAC Certification Guide

Compared to other states, Kansas doesn’t have any statewide HVAC certification and licensing requirements. However, each locality may have their own regulations, so make sure you check them first.

 

For example, Wichita, the state’s largest city, will require you to complete an ongoing education if you want to pursue a career as journeyman or master technician in refrigeration or mechanical trades.

 

The required ongoing education will vary depending on the level and field. You can contact Sedgwick Country for more information.

 

Various other counties and cities have their own laws and regulations. With 105 counties all throughout Kansas, it’s recommended to check your local area to know which is best for you, even though there are no actual required Kansas HVAC certifications. You might also want to check if a license reciprocity is available. It’s also recommended to consult your local licensing agency for the requirements necessary to acquire a working permit, if applicable.

 

Registering as an HVAC Contractor

 

Needless to say, you need a business license if you want to open a business as an HVAC contractor. Kansas has a massive online resource which will provide you with guides regarding the taxes implemented for contractors.

 

EPA Certification

 

You need an EPA certification if you want to handle refrigerants, regardless of size, as mandated by the Environmental Protection Agency in Section 608. There are four different levels depending on the types of unit you handle. Since it is a federal law, it is applicable all throughout the US. Meanwhile, if you handle AC units in automobiles, you should check EPA Section 609 for the requirements. This is a very important Kansas HVAC certification.

 

As an entry-level technician, you can earn up to $32,000 per year with an hourly rate of $15.70 per hour. Meanwhile, an experienced technician in the state, often with Kansas HVAC certification, can earn up to $46,000 a year in HVAC Salary. Make sure you check the regulations in your locality since they may vary from one city or county to another.

Check out nearby states HVAC certification requirements in case you plan on crossing the state boarder for your work.